NASLite Network Attached Storage

www.serverelements.com
Task-specific simplicity with low hardware requirements.
It is currently Tue Nov 12, 2019 8:07 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Feb 11, 2009 10:15 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2009 2:00 pm
Posts: 81
For information to Mac users planning to use smb protocol.
I had difficulties to fix this but finally made it by searching the net, use the following steps and you will be alright.

Open the Terminal (/Applications/Utilities/).
At the prompt, type: sudo pico /etc/nsmb.conf
Press Return.
Enter your password when prompted, then press Return again. (if you are not used to terminal window, the cursor will not move when typing your password)
You should see an empty file and a "New File" notice at the bottom of the pico window. If you do not see the "New File" notice, this file already exists.
Enter the following into the file so that it appears as follows:

default
minauth=none

Save the file (press Control-O), press Return, then exit pico (Control-X).

Type: sudo chmod a+r /etc/nsmb.conf

Press Return.

Restart your computer and you are ready to go with NASLite and smb protocol :D


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 11, 2009 12:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 8:30 pm
Posts: 71
Quote:
default
minauth=none


Should be:

[default]
minauth=none

brackets are important on "default" they denote a "section".

from the nsmb.conf man page:

Quote:
The configuration hierarchy is made up of several sections, each section containing a few or several
lines of parameters and their assigned values. Each of these sections must begin with a section name
enclosed within square brackets, similar to:

[section_name]


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 19, 2009 4:31 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2005 6:31 am
Posts: 52
Location: Brighton, UK
This doesn't work for me. I am still getting the prompt for username and password. Anyone else in the same situation?

MBPro
10.5.6

I'm on Leopard, so that might be a reason why. A search on the net revealed bugs with SMB but nothing of that sort.

{EDIT}

I simply wasn't using the correct command to connect to SMB Shares (I was using the "export" instead and obviously that was not working.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group